Let me introduce you…

to Marcia Faucett! Today I’d like to rave about the tremendously wonderful facial I received from Marcia. She and I both work in La Cañada at Tranquility Skin Care & Spa. I’ve received facials from a lot of different people over the last few years and I have to say I really enjoy Marcia’s combination of clinical attention and pampering.

On the clinical side she evaluates what I need and picks from her skills & product line to best accomplish our goals. In today’s facial she included cleansing, exfoliating, and extracting dirt from clogged pores. She also included a glycolic peel and mask. She finished with a toner and moisturizer (oh my!). On the pampering side she creates a really nice environment in which to relax, unwind, and receive. She does an excellent neck and shoulder massage (I should know!). She also includes a very lovely and effective hand and arm massage while she uses steam on the face. The hot towel at the end on my upper back was a delightful surprise.

We talked a fair amount about facial massage. I’ve often reflected on how ironic it is that our faces are the most public part of our bodies and yet are a very private place in terms of touch. We don’t go around touching each other’s faces. Touching someone’s face involves a level of intimacy between the two people. Of course, receiving a facial is an exception. But when I see people for massage I rarely include the face unless my client specifically requests it. There are many reasons for this: many people prioritize other muscles over facial muscles for their massage time, many people are going somewhere after and don’t want their hair or make-up messed up, or facial massage feels better with some kind of lubricant like oil and not many people apply oil to their faces on purpose.

I was re-thinking all of that today while Marcia gave me an amazing facial massage with my treatment. It felt so wonderful! She reminded me that the benefits of massage elsewhere on the body apply to the face as well:

  • bringing fresh blood supply to the skin and facial muscles
  • flushing waste products away through the lymph system
  • clearing sinuses through the use of gentle pressure
  • relieving headaches & relaxing the jaw

Marcia uses this silky smooth treatment creme that nourishes and hydrates the skin while she massages. Can you tell I’m a fan?

I highly recommend Marcia for any facial needs you have. She also does microdermabrasion, waxing, and lash & brow tinting. We can even coordinate a facial and massage for an extra decadent treat. Marcia can be reached at 626) 862-1860. She works by appointment Tuesday – Saturday. Lastly, because she’s so nice, she’s offering complimentary eyebrow shaping to my blog readers through the end of March. Thanks Marcia!

Leave a Reply

