couch po-ta-to

Recently my husband & I watched an entire day of movies. This is very rare, I’m happy to say. We were celebrating the end of his Ph.D. program. S-E-V-E-N years of studying is a long time! So, we wanted to celebrate in some very long way. His celebration of choice was a Lord of the Rings extended version back-to-back-to-back movie marathon. Fortunately, I like these movies too.

But I’m not used to being a couch po-ta-to (as Samwise Gamgee would say). And by day’s end my hip hurt after being enveloped by a couch all day. Don’t worry, I’m not going to try to mine a lesson out of the all-day movie marathon (such as)

  • how to sit on a couch for 11 hours in the most ergonomically correct way
  • how to slay the Nazgûl while engaging core muscles
  • how to toss a dwarf without straining one’s bicep tendon

I’ll just say that celebrating life’s accomplishments is very important and that watching 11 hours of TV in a day is very bad. So do the first, but not the second (at least not very often). That’s it for today! Now where did I put that lembas bread?

One thought on “couch po-ta-to

  1. Lee says:

    I know what you mean Susan! I’m not much of a tv-watcher, but yesterday, I just sat on the couch in front of the tv for a movie, a documentary and a tv-show, and my butt hurt for a long time afterwards. It was hard to walk!

Leave a Reply

